Thread: Mold Weight Capacity

Mold Weight Capacity

Hi everyone, I'm new on this forum and hoping to get some help. I'm still new to injection molding and hopefully I can get some advice from the more experienced members/moderators.

We're planning to mount a mold with a weight of 2,050 kg (Moving Half = 1,050 kg; Fixed Half = 1,000 kg) to a 175 Ton machine, Klockner-Ferromatik FM175 to be specific. Is the machine capable of carrying such weight? Sorry I can't find the mold weight capacity on the machine specifications.

Thanks in advance!

Re: Mold Weight Capacity

Hello and Welcome to the Forums!

The machine should have no problem carrying the weight. The questions you need to answer are:

- Can the mold dimensions fit in the machine? The tie bars are going to be your limiting factor here. If your tie bars are 1.25ft x 1.25ft apart and your mold is 1.5ft x 1.5ft then your not going to fit!
    - Does the machine have enough shot size capacity in the barrel to fill the mold and pack it out?
    - Does the machine have the pressure available to fill the mold? i.e. is it going to take 30,000 psi to fill the mold but your machine is only capable of 25,000 psi. Don't forget to convert hydraulic to plastic pressure!
    - With the mold installed, is there enough "open" distance to eject the part and runner when the mold is fully opened? If your are using automation then you need to add the size of the robot arm in there too!

Hope this helps!

Husky

I just wanted to add the specs for your machine:

The distance between tie bars: 520mm x 520mm. Your mold needs to be smaller than these numbers.