Thread: Flow Lines?

Flow Lines?

Hello all! It has been too long since I have been on to post any questions/responses.

Today I was taking pictures of PET tubes with extra back lighting for our quality department and they immediately started questioning me about "flow lines" on the part. The parts all pass inspection criteria and are acceptable, however, they want to know why.

I told them that I would get back to them after talking with my team (since I am still a newbie at work and didn't want to misspeak).

My team said that they are flow lines and we always have had them, so I wanted to get other opinions/explanations. I have also noticed these lines before that were slightly discolored and looked a little degraded, but my team said it comes and goes as well.

I am inserting the image to the text and also attaching so that you can see the lines. The lines are very hard to see, so I traced the lines as well as lightening the image in hopes of making it stand out.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Flow Lines.jpg 
Views:	43 
Size:	9.3 KB 
ID:	393

Re: Flow Lines?

The images are too small for my old eyes to make out much detail, but the defect doesn’t look like what I would call a flow line, it seems to be more related to gate blush.

Can you give us more detail about the mold – cavitation, runner style (hot/cold), gates, etc.? Also, you could run a fill progression to see where the cavity just begins to fill, then compare that to the pressure curve – if you see a dip, there may be a hesitation at the flow front causing the flow line.

That wouldn’t necessarily explain the degraded appearance though, so I’ll take a wild shot in the dark. Degraded material coming off the gate – usually with a smoky appearance – can be associated with valve-gated hot runners. In that case, raising the gate zone temperature by a few degrees (5 or 10 F) will generally show an improvement.

Hi,