PDA

View Full Version : Is is possible to use silicone as an insert to an aluminium frame?

cottontail
8th September 2017, 10:15 AM
Hello,

This question might be completely daft, so forgive me in advance. :p

I have seven years experience making silicone molds (degassed/vacuumed) and resin casting (under pressure) using a 2-component rigid urethane casting compound that cures at room temperature.

I make silly little action figures.

I have been thinking about getting a bench top plastic injection machine (like the LNS Technologies one or similar).

Is is possible to use silicone as an insert to an aluminium frame, like epoxy is used in this example?

http://www.instructables.com/id/Home-Plastic-Injection-Molding-with-an-Epoxy-Mold/

I know that many silicons can withstand temperature, so would the chief issue be deformation? I.e. the worst you'd see is some extra flashing?

Or perhaps it wouldn't take long for the mold details to tear away given the heat exposure?

I would think to use maybe recycled polypropylene (flow temp of 90-150 °F) for casting.

The silicone I have the most experience using is ELASTOSIL® VARIO 40

https://www.wacker.com/cms/media/documents/markets_brands/plastics_download/Infosheet_Elastosil-Vario.pdf

The other silicones I have access to here in my home town are:
ELASTOSIL® VARIO 15
ELASTOSIL® M 4470
ELASTOSIL® C 1200 A
ELASTOSIL® M 4503
ELASTOSIL® M 4642
ELASTOSIL® M 4644
ELASTOSIL® M 4670

Any thoughts?

Thanks so much!

REgards
John

JayDub
8th September 2017, 02:59 PM
Just a couple of points to ponder: