PDA

View Full Version : Construx

TripHazard
31st July 2017, 04:46 PM
Hi everyone. I'm just learning about injection moulding. I was wondering how these would have been moulded since they look to have undercuts on all 6 faces of a cube. I've seen example of how threads are moulded but the only way I could see this working would be a 6 part mould and I've never seen any examples of that. https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.mnn.com/earth-matters/energy/blogs/amp/heirloom-toys-construx-for-the-win

Thanks in advance for any info

MTUHusky
1st August 2017, 04:12 PM
Hey Trip,

A close-up picture would help but it looks like it would be a combination of slides, lifters (sliding, hinged or spring lifters) and horn pins. So essentially you would have the detail on two sides coming from the A and B side of the mold and then each cavity would have 4 slides for the other 4 faces of detail. This is slightly over simplified but it will get you started in the right direction.

Husky

TripHazard
2nd August 2017, 12:05 PM
wow sounds complicated! i thought it would be because it even looks as though the under cuts have under cuts haha. yeah i couldn't find any better pictures. ive got a similar design in mind for a product and couldn't find an example of anything else being injection moulded like it, until i came across those "fisher price construx", which gave me hope it was possible.
i guess the mould cost, machine cost and cycle times would be extremely high on something like that? i did do a quote on that "proto labs" website but its all automated it just came back at around 4000 for the mould and told me i needed to get rid of the undercuts... are there some companies on here that could take a look at the design and give me a proper quote? or any suggestions for companies that dont just have an automated response. im quite new to all this and just learning. i know some of the basics but, its all youtube and google-fu.

MTUHusky
2nd August 2017, 07:28 PM
Hey Trip,