PDA

View Full Version : Influence of pressure in Injection molding of LSR (Liquid Silicon Rubber)

Lookid
22nd March 2017, 11:23 AM
Hello everyone, I'm new here. I'm a student in mechanical engineering and I'm actually working on the Injection Molding process for LSR.

As you probably know, for silicone, the matter is cold injected and the mold is heated. So when the mold is completely filled, the temperature of silicone rises and silicone tries to swell but it's not possible, so the internal pressure rises. And here I don't know how to answer this question :

Does this pressure (caused by swelling) has an influence on the curing time ?
If yes, is it by an elevation of temperature ? A faster crosslinking due to this pressure ?

Thanks for your answers

Suhas
24th March 2017, 02:32 PM
Hello,
All the best for your studies and education. Do well.
I think your question is a little to theoretical and with almost zero experience in silicones I only have one comment: The part design and the flow are both very important and to understand your question, you will need to do some structured research. In thermoplastics, we do something called a viscosity study during which the pressure either increases or decreases with injection speed - and that increase or decrease is part design and runner diameter dependent. So I have no answer when someone asks me 'Does it increase? or Does it decrease'?
All the best,
Suhas

chrisprocess
24th March 2017, 11:28 PM
Hello everyone, I'm new here. I'm a student in mechanical engineering and I'm actually working on the Injection Molding process for LSR.

As you probably know, for silicone, the matter is cold injected and the mold is heated. So when the mold is completely filled, the temperature of silicone rises and silicone tries to swell but it's not possible, so the internal pressure rises. And here I don't know how to answer this question :

Does this pressure (caused by swelling) has an influence on the curing time ?