PDA

View Full Version : Linear VS volume shot size

Lonewolf
16th January 2017, 04:18 PM
I've been doing this for (only) about 5 years and all of our processes are set up in linear shot size, i.e, how far the screw moves for the shot. We move molds between various machines (we have 32 machines ranging from a 55T to 750T) and may not put the mold in a machine of the same size which requires reprocessing (unless we've done it before and have a setup for it). I've asked about using volume as shot size since that would be consistent across machine sizes, meaning 2 cubic inches is 2 cubic inches regardless of barrel size as opposed to 3" linear movement is NOT the same with a different barrel size. Volume would seem to make transitioning to a different size machine easier, plus when a new mold comes out of our tool room, the guys could give us the volume of the cavities and we'd have a better starting point than guessing linear movement (of course we could do all the math to convert but I'm lazy... :cool: ). This makes more sense in my mind.... am I wrong?
Answers I've gotten are:
1: "We've always done it that way". A company mindset that doesn't seem open to much change.
2: Volume is too imprecise and difficult to process.
3: It's stupid to do it that way, more or less referring to 1 & 2

So what are the opinions of those in other shops and more experience?
Thanks

iautry1973
16th January 2017, 04:31 PM