PDA

View Full Version : Injection Mold Review

perrimeta_designs
11th November 2014, 04:49 AM
Hi Everyone!

I am new to injection molding but I am very interested in learning more. I am currently designing a part to be molded and have designed an injection mold to be made out of aluminum. I was hoping someone could give it a quick look and see if I am leaving anything out or if it would produce defective parts in any way.

I plan to produce around 5000 parts out of ABS for this mold.

I have attached a pdf and I also have step files if you would like to take a look I can email them to you.

Thanks!
Greg

JayDub
11th November 2014, 03:40 PM
Greg,

If this is a drafting school exercise, get hold of an introductory text book on mold design/construction (there is a very basic one by Doug Bryce). You can also look at mold suppliers’ websites such as DME or MUD to see how molds are put together.

If you are currently (newly?) employed by a mold shop, go look at some molds and talk to your tool-makers.

Regards & good luck.

perrimeta_designs
11th November 2014, 06:31 PM
Greg,

If this is a drafting school exercise, get hold of an introductory text book on mold design/construction (there is a very basic one by Doug Bryce). You can also look at mold suppliers’ websites such as DME or MUD to see how molds are put together.

If you are currently (newly?) employed by a mold shop, go look at some molds and talk to your tool-makers.

Regards & good luck.

Hi Jay,

Thanks for the response! I am doing this on my own at home, I just purchased a CNC machine and I want to learn more about how molds are made. I will definitely use the resources you provided.

I have done a little research I was just hoping to get some input from experienced mold makers to see if what I have designed is viable.

Thanks again

Suhas
11th November 2014, 09:43 PM
Hi,