PDA

View Full Version : New here with a head full of questions

Valentin Leung
10th October 2014, 05:53 AM
Hello there!

I thought that it would be good to present myself and my background before asking questions around. Valentin Leung, I am a Chinese native French working in Hong Kong for a US boss (boy, that sounds complicated).

I have been a Product Design Engineer in a molding company, we are mostly doing thin packaging. I was literally fed up of waiting during mold trials, so I decided to look into molding process, so after working in plastic design for so long, I crossed that bridge and ended up trying to process my own molds. That's about me.

I have crossed upon my boss notes about scientific molding and was thinking to learn a bit more. But, it's just notes. Before he and I decide to fly me over the US to learn more in a seminar and on hands sessions, I decided to order the book from Suhas. While waiting for delivery, I still have millions of questions.

We have plenty of mold processors here... but they can't articulate what and WHY they are doing the way they do in a way that I can understand fully. Every time they are called in, they do their *MAGIC* and tune the process in and I am dazzled. I don't think I have control of anything, hence my quest to understand more.

I am using hydraulic machines from Welltec, I believe it's servomotor driving hydraulic pumps, I can do recovery and clamp motion in parallel, tonnage ranges from 260t to 450t.

I still have a few questions: