PDA

View Full Version : Looking back to your first few years in molding ...

Suhas
4th December 2013, 04:30 AM
Guys,
Looking back to your first few years in molding, what is the one thing that you did that still makes you and everyone else laugh? Or is there such a thing?
Here is my answer: I was a setup tech in my first year. I was doing a mold change on a 200 ton machine and did not realize that I still had one bolt clamped on. I went to move the mold out of the locating ring and ended up lifting the whole machine about 6 inches off the floor, snapping the cable and sending it flying through the air. There were no mold changes for the next two days :) My boss was .... let us just say 'not happy'. Did not send me home :)
Suhas

Josue
4th December 2013, 01:46 PM
I was testing a New mold,, sudenly one water hose broke and water appears avery where in the floor, Quickly I try to close the Main water supply pipes (pvc 2 ") I close the valve too hard so I broke the valve, and become a worst water leak,,we have to stop production for a few hours...

-One time also I was changing a mold,,,there was a pretty lady in the line, I was not focus in the job, I was very disturb observing this lady, I open the machine plate and pull the mold out of the machine, I not realize that knok bars was still set in the mold, I broke the screw inside of the mold,,, my boss only wshake the herad, and make a strange sound,,,,I was a Teenager,, :)

Fargo Flash
4th December 2013, 02:57 PM
Oh, that's an easy one. I was setting up the new reaction injection mold machine and explaining to an employee how to run the machine. I was showing him how to do a dry high pressure cycle but I forgot the machine was in shot mode. I dumped about a gallon of polyurethane on my pant legs and shoes. The RIM material we use has a fluidity duration of about 15 seconds. Unfortunately, I didn't kick my shoes off fast enough. I had to cut my right leg out of my rhino-lined pants and had to cut both shoes off.