PDA

View Full Version : Injection Moulding Thesis

barbo
2nd May 2013, 02:27 AM
Hi everyone,

Starting by introducing myself, I used to work for 3 years in a large injection moulding department as a process technician where i just gained and have a good knowledge about injection moulding machines, from large tons to small ones like 'Babyplast'. Basically, i used to change moulds, set machines and material and make sure to keep my cell running. Lately, i just stopped working and completed my studies and actually im doing a Bachelors in Mechanical Engineering. Next Year I have to do my thesis and, since i have a good experience in this field and since i'm even interested in injection moulding, i was thinking to do my thesis which is related with injection moulding. However, I don't have such specific ideas what i should do. Maybe do you know of any projects or modifications related with injection moulding that should be good for my thesis ?

Best Regards
Barbo

Pilot
2nd May 2013, 04:06 PM
Hi,
Injection molding is realy large space and a lot of people are thinking, that it is easy process. (they have strong argument - It must be easy, everybody has a injection machine in garage.)
If I can make a proposal for you, try to focus your thesis on future or on a open issues in the process or some specifics of IM process. May be:
Mucell + talk filed materials vs. Mucell and glass fibres
GIT vs. water
or PP with Long glass fibre vs. dimmensions (iso/anisotropy)
or as has been mentioned in another thread on this forum - direct cooling of the tool by nitrogen
or something else :-)

regards Pilot

brentb
3rd May 2013, 01:58 AM
You can find many ideas on this forum, such as 98.5% full by weight or volume. You could research that and argue that it is supported science or dogma. Maybe you can begin to settle the argument.

Welcome to the world of Molding and "Keep on Molding"

brent

Suhas
3rd May 2013, 02:58 PM