PDA

View Full Version : Flash at the nozzle

finerdetail
3rd December 2012, 04:40 PM
I'm somewhat new to the injection mold process, but I'm learning quickly. I run a BOY 55A hot runner I.M. with a dual cavity puck mold for quality purposes (plastic recycling). I'm having issues with flashing or, for lack of a better term, nipple (?) at the nozzle. It varies anywhere from 1 - 7 millimeters in length. The shorter ones aren't a problem, but the longer ones sure are. Any help here would be great!

finerdetail
3rd December 2012, 05:50 PM
I've attached a photo (a poor one) of a 6mm nozzle flash per my previous post.

rickbatey
4th December 2012, 03:59 AM
I think what you have is referred to as drool. It is due to the molten resin in the nozzle not separating from the cooled resin in the cavity.
Root causes are: nozzle temp too high or low; too short or long of a suck back (decompression) stroke or incorrect speed; screw recovery is finished too early before the cooling timer runs down and the mold opening; too slow mold break away speed; wrong nozzle type or orifice used for the mold. Also your resin could be wet.
Rick.

finerdetail
4th December 2012, 12:34 PM
Thanks so much for the advice. Alot to consider for what seems to be such a small problem. Decompression is available, but we don't use it. I'll start there.

moldingppm
4th December 2012, 09:02 PM
I'm going to say because you're not using decompression and/or too high of temperature.

Pilot
6th December 2012, 05:04 PM
Which material is it?

Pilot

rickbatey
6th December 2012, 08:43 PM
Any changes? What's different now?
Rick.

finerdetail
7th December 2012, 12:09 PM
It's recycled PET. Very dirty stuff, compaired to what most of you are using (I'm guessing).

finerdetail
7th December 2012, 12:22 PM
I'm going to say because you're not using decompression and/or too high of temperature.